The DZIF annually awards a prize of 5.000 Euro for exceptional translational infection research. Candidates who significantly contributed to infection research in Germany can either be nominated by their mentors or apply directly to the DZIF Academy. Besides the DZIF awards Dissertation Prizes, together with German Societies in the field of infection research; worth 500 to 1,500 euros.

DZIF Prize for Translational Infection Research

Prize winners

  • 2018: Marylyn Addo, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, and Volker Lohmann, Heidelberg University Hospital
    Press Release
  • 2017: Andreas Peschel, Interfaculty Institute of Microbiology and Infection Medicine Tübingen (IMIT)
    Press Release
  • 2016: Florian Klein, University Hospital Cologne
    Press Release
  • 2015: Markus Gerhard, Technische Universität München
    Press Release
  • 2014: Stephan Urban, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
    Press Release

DZIF/DGI Dissertation Prize

Prize winners

  • 2014: Jan-Moritz Doehn
  • 2015: Jara Joedicke, Stephanie Jung und Zuguang Wu
  • 2016: Stephanie Pfänder, Jan Naujoks, Angelique Hölzemer
  • 2017: Johanna Galaski, Steffen Wiegand, Shuting Xu
  • 2018: Daniel Todt, Surabhi Goyal, Florian Lempp

DZIF/DGHM Dissertation Prize

Prize winners

  • 2014: Ivo Finsel
  • 2015: Anna Müller, Irma Haben and Matthias Merker
  • 2016: Wiebke Behrens and Alexander Westermann
  • 2017: Sandrine Brugiroux, Angela Kling, Viktoria Liss
  • 2018: Tobias Dietsche

DZIF/GfV Dissertation Prize

Prize winners

  • 2014: Yuchen Xia
  • 2015: Michaela Gerlach
  • 2016: Stephanie Pfänder
  • 2017: Florian Lempp
  • 2018: Étori Aguiar Moreira

Award Ceremony 2017

DZIF Prize winner Andreas Peschel (left) and Martin Krönke, DZIF Executive Board© DZIF/C. Augustin

Award Ceremony 2016

DZIF Prize for Translational Research: Prof Ulrike Protzer (left) presents the award to Prof Florian Klein, University Hospital Cologne.

Award Ceremony 2015

DZIF Prize for Translational Research: Prof Dirk Heinz (left) presents the award, worth 5.000 euros, to Prof Markus Gerhard, TUM.© DZIF

Award Ceremony 2014

Prize winner Stephan Urban and Ulrike Protzer, DZIF Executive Board© DZIF