Translation
© Zach Veilleux, Rockefeller University

Translation

Translation in the medical field means transferring the results from basic research into clinical application.

What is translation?

Simply click to find out more about translation.

Basic scientific and medical research are the foundation for gaining knowledge and driving progress. The scientists at the DZIF pursue the aim of strategically transferring the results from basic research into clinical application. This process is called translation (lat.: translatio). Helping patients is a top priority for researchers at the DZIF. The principle “from bench to bed” illustrates the term “translational research” in the medical field.  

Translation involves mutual feedback 

During translation, the transfer of knowledge is not a one-way street: Observations from hospitals are also incorporated in research in laboratories. It is essential for translational research for doctors and scientists to have a close working relationship, with the patients’ needs at the core.

The DZIF coordinates the translational infection research in Germany and sets its strategic direction. Particularly for infectious diseases, there is high demand for new therapeutic agents such as antibiotics, antiviral and antiparasitic agents as well as vaccines. The pharmaceutical industry no longer provides a part of product development from pre-clinical research to phase I and II clinical trials to the extent that is currently required. This is where the DZIF is intensifying its research and closing the translational gap: Multidisciplinary teams made up of doctors and basic scientists combine their expertise to develop new types of diagnostics, vaccines and therapeutic substances. The second translational step involves late clinical trials and implementing new methods in routine medical care; the DZIF wants to make an impact in this area too.

Translation
© Zach Veilleux, Rockefeller University

Translation

Translation ist eine Übersetzung der besonderen Art: aus Erkenntnissen der Grundlagenforschung werden neue Medikamente für den Patienten.

Was bedeutet  Translation?

Naturwissenschaftliche und medizinische Grundlagenforschung sind die Basis für Erkenntnisgewinn und Fortschritt. Die Wissenschaftler im DZIF verfolgen das Ziel, die Ergebnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung möglichst zielgerichtet in die klinische Anwendung zu übertragen. Dieser Vorgang wird Translation (lat.: translatio = Übertragung) genannt. Patienten zu helfen, ist für die Forscher im DZIF maßgeblich. „From Bench to Bed“ oder „Von der Laborbank zum Patienten“ – dieser Leitspruch veranschaulicht den Begriff Translationale Forschung“ im medizinischen Bereich. 

Translation umfasst gegenseitiges Feedback 

Bei der Translation erfolgt die Übertragung der Erkenntnisse nicht nur in eine Richtung: Auch Beobachtungen aus der Klinik fließen in die Forschung im Labor mit ein. Voraussetzung für translationale Forschung ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit von Ärzten und Wissenschaftlern – im Mittelpunkt stehen immer die Bedürfnisse der Patienten.

Translation im DZIF

Das DZIF koordiniert die translationale Infektionsforschung in Deutschland und richtet sie strategisch aus. Gerade bei den Infektionskrankheiten besteht ein großer Bedarf an neuen therapeutischen Wirkstoffen wie Antibiotika, antiviralen und antiparasitären Wirkstoffen sowie Impfstoffen. Ein Teil der Produktentwicklung von der Präklinik bis zu klinischen Studien der Phasen I und II wird von der pharmazeutischen Industrie nicht in dem Maße geleistet, wie es derzeit erforderlich wäre. Hier intensiviert das DZIF seine Forschung und schließt diese translationale Lücke: In multidisziplinären Teams aus Ärzten und Grundlagenwissenschaftlern bündelt es seine Expertise und entwickelt neuartige Diagnostika, Impfstoffe und Therapeutika. Als zweiter translationaler Schritt schließen sich späte klinische Studien und die Umsetzung neuer Methoden in den medizinischen Alltag an; auch hier will das DZIF Impulse setzen.